

Illinois Commerce Commission



For Immediate Release June 6, 2018

ICC CONTACT: Marianne Manko Office: (217) 782-5793 Mobile: (217) 993-1000 Marianne.Manko@Illinois.gov

> Victoria Crawford Office: (217) 557-5819 Victoria.Crawford@Illinois.gov

ICC Chairman Brien Sheahan Appointed to Nuclear Energy Advisory Committee

Chicago—United States Secretary of Energy Rick Perry has appointed Brien J. Sheahan, Chairman and CEO of the Illinois Commerce Commission, to serve on the Nuclear Energy Advisory Committee (NEAC) of the Department of Energy (DOE).

"I would like to thank Secretary Perry for the opportunity to serve on this important committee. This is a pivotal time for the nuclear energy industry. Illinois leads the nation in terms of the number of reactors and generating capacity from nuclear power and recent state policy changes affirm strong support for maintaining this essential zero carbon resource. I look forward to sharing my experience and knowledge with the other members of the committee and am honored to have been chosen," Sheahan said.

The committee was established in 1998 to provide independent advice to the Office of Nuclear Energy on scientific, commercial, technical, and programmatic issues. The committee reviews and provides advice and recommendations on the DOE's nuclear energy programs.

In his appointment letter, Chairman Sheahan is asked to provide advice and expertise on innovation and the modernization of the nation's utility infrastructure and regulatory paradigms.

"The U.S. nuclear energy sector is at a pivotal point, with transformational and innovative technologies on the horizon," said Ed McGinnis, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy. "These members are chosen to reflect our intent of gaining a wide variety of expert advice for the Office of Nuclear Energy as it supports the revitalization and expansion of the U.S. nuclear energy sector."

The Committee reports to the Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy and is expected to meet approximately two to three times a year without compensation. Chairman Sheahan's NEAC term is set to expire on December 31, 2019.

####

About the Illinois Commerce Commission

The Illinois Commerce Commission (ICC) is a quasi-judicial body made up of five Commissioners. Through its Public Utility Program, the Commission oversees the provision of adequate, reliable, efficient and safe utility services at the least possible cost to Illinois citizens served by electric, natural gas, telecommunications, water and sewer public utility companies. Through its Transportation Regulatory Program, the Commission oversees public safety and consumer protection programs with regard to intrastate commercial motor carriers of general freight, household goods movers, relocation towers, safety towers, personal property warehouses and repossession agencies. The Commission's Rail Safety Program also inspects and regulates the general safety of railroad tracks, facilities and equipment in the state.

To learn more about the Commission, its offices and bureaus, click <u>here</u>. If you are a consumer who needs help resolving a utility dispute call 800-524-0795 or file an online complaint <u>here</u>. For a complaint related to transportation, call 217-782-6448.

Follow the Illinois Commerce Commission on Twitter @ILCommerceComm